Charles Mock

Charles Mock

(1908 – 1964) an American originally imprisoned together with other Allied civilians in the University of Santo Tomas, kept a journal of his time in the prisoner of war camp in Los Baños, Laguna.

Friday, May 14, 1943

Last night was the final at Santo Tomás –Both [Charmian and I] quite upset… It has been very pleasant with Charmian for all these months…

Read More »

Wednesday, May 19, 1943

…Not much exciting, rain late this afternoon –the mornings early have been beautiful. I weighed 71 kg. today so that’s almost a 9 lbs. gain

Read More »

Thursday, May 20, 1943

…Calhoun spoke over loudspeaker tonight, said news from Manila exceptionally good, etc. The news brought into Santo Tomás by some 70 reinternees is good, if

Read More »

Friday, May 21, 1943

One week today and we’re all quite comfortable. The early morning was beautiful again and later the cloud banks over the top of Makiling –Washed

Read More »

Saturday, May 22, 1943

…Rain last night, more washing today, held the surveyor’s tape, conferred with Pinkerton on supplies, etc. Read Liberty Mutual Manual with Dan this P.M. Lee

Read More »

Monday, May 24, 1943

Barracks nearing completion across the creek—no one has seen them yet! Well-driving machinery to be here this week from Manila. I know the postholes were

Read More »

Tuesday, May 25, 1943

Rain all morning and no sun in the afternoon—chow was good though and we cut a pineapple that was the sweetest I’ve ever tasted, we

Read More »

Friday, May 28, 1943*

Porky continues to be troublesome, wouldn’t (let) the camp vegetable buyer go out even on commandant’s pass. Wouldn’t let the pineapples in or the canteen.

Read More »

Saturday, May 29, 1943

Porky allowed George to go shopping with the bus today wouldn’t (let) Dayton go out however. Reason: Dayton is a member of this camp, George

Read More »

Sunday, May 30, 1943

Memorial Day—Ever since I can remember, this has been a memorable holiday, the kind that children remember because of their impressions. Strangely enough it has

Read More »

Tuesday, June 1, 1943

…Dreston was robbed last night, he sleeps under cottage 3 and his bed is apart from the others. Someone, probably a Filipino, removed a “tampepe”

Read More »

Wednesday, June 2, 1943

This morning Porky wanted us (Americans) to build breastworks at the gates. Committee protested, so they had to use Filipinos. Built works of wood and

Read More »

Friday, June 4, 1943

The Filipinos are allegedly evacuating the Y tomorrow and we take possession Sunday—I wonder? Calhoun spoke to the crowd tonight. Said you were very crowded

Read More »

Saturday, June 5, 1943

Another warning from the Commander that the camp is liable to be attacked by guerrillas. The info was passed on at a monitor’s meeting and

Read More »

Sunday, June 6, 1943

The Y was opened today and the carpenters, plumbers and electricians moved in. They’ll continue tomorrow and then we clean. I guess we’ll work on

Read More »

Monday, June 7, 1943

Thorough grounds cleaning at the Y, in spite of rain all afternoon. It’s a mess and will take some days to prepare for habitation. Several

Read More »

Friday June 11, 1943

For about the 20th successive lunch, excepting last Sunday, we had beans, black brown or mongo, for lunch. They just put in a spoonful of

Read More »

Wednesday June 16, 1943

Those new socks [probably knitted from string.]—wonderful! You are a darling! I’ve been hoarding sugar but I guess we’ll use some on the mush for

Read More »

Saturday June 19, 1943

I’ve worn the socks, couldn’t resist, they are perfect for size and feel wonderful. Darling, I hope you and your father can come up together

Read More »
Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin